About Us

Message from the President



It is a great honor to serve as the President of the Japanese Pharmacological Society (JPS) during the ongoing 2018–2020 academic year. On behalf of the Society I would like to take this opportunity to extend an invitation to you to become a member of the JPS.

Our new JPS Council members are as follows: Vice President, Dr. Kazuhiko Yanai; Board of Councilors, Northern region: Dr. Kohji Fukunaga; Kanto region: Drs. Naohiko Anzai, Yuji Ikegaya, Kumiko Ishige, Yasuhito Uezono, Kohei Kikkawa, Hideo Kimura, Yoshio Goshima, Yuichi Tomura; Kinki region: Drs. Yoshikatsu Kanai, Shuji Kaneko, Masahiro Nishibori, Hitoshi Hashimoto, Chihiro Yabe, Kiyofumi Yamada; Southwestern region: Drs. Hiroshi Ueda, Toshiyuki Sasaguri; and Inspectors, Drs. Yoshihisa Ito, Yuichi Hattori.

Pharmacology is an energetic area of biomedical science, linking together chemistry, physiology and pathology, and crucial for discovering new drugs to help fight diseases. For the development of new drugs, advances in basic science must be achieved to create the seeds of new drugs. Such seeds must be translated into clinical trials at bedside. Thus, pharmacology requires the multidisciplinary integration of various levels of studies from bench to bedside and demands that we utilize a wide spectrum of methods to achieve our final goal.

It is therefore of utmost importance to have the participation of researchers having diverse backgrounds for the advancement of the pharmacological sciences.

Furthermore, the JPS promotes cooperation and collaborations with International Union of Basic and Clinical Pharmacology (IUPHAR), Asia Pacific Federation of Pharmacologists (APFP), Australasian Society of Clinical and Experimental Pharmacologists and Toxicologists (ASCEPT) and other pharmacological societies in the world so that the JPS will play a leading role to contribute to the advancement of pharmacology.

Mitsuhiro Yoshioka, M.D., Ph.D.
The Japanese Pharmacological Society